At the initiative of the Diocesan Priests Council, Archbishop Diarmuid Martin mandated each of the 200 parishes in the diocese to set up a Parish Pastoral Council (PPC).

The PPC is a partnership of clergy and laity consulting working together to enable the Parish Community to fulfill its vision which is:

“To create a Welcoming, Growing, Compassionate

and Participating Christian Community

in a Changing Modern World”.

The Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish Pastoral Council was set up in early 2005. Since then lay people and clergy have been working together in the parish helping to sustain what is a vibrant and caring community.

A community: where people feel they belong and know God’s own welcome;

where people come into contact with Christ

and with the hope and joy of the gospel;

where people find their spirits nourished by prayer and liturgy;

where people find the extraordinary love of God

in the ordinary events of their lives;

where people are drawn into using their gifts

for the good of one another.

The Parish Pastoral Council can be contacted through the Parish Office 01 276 0030 or by email

The PPC meet at monthly intervals. The members of Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish Pastoral Council are as follows:-

Fr. Bernard Kennedy – President
Tom Coleman(Chairperson)
Ottalie Dwyer
Celia Flynn
Kathleen Manning
Carmel McElroy 
Mairead Murphy

Sally Phalan

Herman Van den Bergh